HARRISBURG – Rep. Jonathan Fritz (R-Susquehanna/Wayne) took the oath of office on Tuesday to represent the people of the 111th District in Wayne and Susquehanna counties.


“I am honored to represent the people of the 111th District,” said Fritz. “As a lifelong resident of Wayne County, I understand the challenges facing our communities and pledge to represent our values in Harrisburg.”


Fritz was born and raised in Oregon Township, Wayne County. He currently resides in Honesdale with his wife, Donna, and their three children.


After earning a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Pennsylvania State University, Fritz worked for several years for a local tractor and farm machinery dealership, serving as general manager and head of sales.


Fritz served two terms as mayor of Honesdale and two terms as a Wayne County commissioner, serving as vice chair. Fritz belongs to several local volunteer organizations and civic groups, and also lends his time as a football coach.


“The Commonwealth is facing many challenges, including financial and budgetary concerns, the opioid crisis, and crippling regulations stifling small business growth. I believe there are many opportunities disguised as challenges, and with strong, effective leadership, we will see prosperous days ahead in Pennsylvania,” said Fritz.


“I look forward to working with my colleagues to tackle these issues and create a positive environment conducive to innovation and economic growth to ensure our state remains a wonderful place to live, work and raise a family.”


The 111th Legislative District includes the Wayne County townships of Buckingham, Cannan, Clinton, Dyberry, Lake, Lebanon, Manchester, Mount Pleasant, Preston, South Canaan and Texas, and the boroughs of Bethany, Forest City, Honesdale, Prompton, Starrucca and Waymart; and the Susquehanna County townships of Ararat, Bridgewater, Brooklyn, Choconut, Clifford, Forest Lake, Franklin, Gibson, Great Bend, Harmony, Harford, Herrick, Jackson, Jessup, Lenox, Liberty, New Milford, Oakland, Silver Lake and Thompson and the boroughs of Great Bend, Hallstead, Lanesboro, Montrose, New Milford, Oakland, Susquehanna Depot, Thompson and Union Dale.