LAKE ARIEL – The Lake Ariel Volunteer Fire Company recently installed its 2015 officers.

An installation dinner took place at The Hideout Main Lodge.

Members of area fire companies were in attendance to show their support for Lake Ariel's crew.

Other invited guests included Wayne County Commissioners Brian Smith, Wendall Kay and Jonathan Fritz; Lake Township Supervisors Fred Birmelin, Scottie Swingle and Tim Jaggars and The Hideout Property Owners Association President William Rooney, General Manager Joe Acla and Chairman Arnie Millidantri.

Following the meal was a presentation with photos from 2014 and some of the department's accomplishments.

Lake Ariel answered 238 calls in 2014, including 55 accidents, 33 structure fires and four brush fires.

The department had over 3,800 man hours of training and over 7,000 man hours for alarms.

They also met 58 times for in house training, which is around three hours each night. That doesn't include personal training hours the firemen can complete on their own.

The department received two different grants for air packs ($50,000) and radios ($12,000).

Lake Ariel also had 23 fundraisers and 12 new members in 2014.

Seventeen members are in the process of taking their FF1 certification. More than half the company has their FF1 or FF2.

It isn't cheap to run a department. For example, every time Lake Ariel responds to a working fire at a house, it costs between $350 and $400 in fuel alone to have three or four of their trucks on scene.

President Mark Cowger and DiPierro presented awards for 2014. They are as follows:

• Probationary member of the year- William Kay.

• Chief's award-Greg Reingold

• President's award- Edward Sparkowski

• Firefighter of the Year- Sarah Brodowsky

• Top Five Responders (not including the Chiefs)-Christopher DiPierro with 128, Jason De Lorenzo with 123, Michael Dilatush with 110, Danny Rae with 105 and Alan Smith with 99.

Jaggars installed the administrative officers and Kay installed the firematic officers.

The 2015 officers are as follows: Mark Cowger, president; Don Pontosky, vice president; Edward Sparkowski, treasurer, chaplain and safety officer; Christina Cowger, secretary; Jason Sickler, assistant chief, disciplinary trustee and training officer; Bryan Schumacher, trustee; Dave Claus, trustee; Mario Leone, trustee and fire police lieutenant; Jason DeLorenzo, fire captain and trustee; Josh Dennis, trustee; Christopher DiPierro, rescue captain, trustee and training officer; Michael DiPierro, fire chief; Al Rae, deputy chief; Shane Howe, lieutenant; Alan Smith, engineer; Bruce Swingle, fire police captain; Randy Fullwood, fire police lieutenant and Danny Rae and Sara Brodowsky, station officer.