HAWLEY — Hawley resident Susan “Sue” Courtright has been named recipient of the Charles and Alma Hames Volunteer of the Year Award for 2016 by the Hawley Public Library.

Established in 2000, the award recognizes the Hames couple for their lifelong dedication as community volunteers.

Also Alma Hames was one of the Library’s founders.

A 29 year veteran as a Library volunteer, Mrs. Courtright says that she first came to know the Library when she brought her children there when they were small.

She also credits her friend Norma Anderson with telling her about volunteer opportunities.


Currently Courtright works at the Main Desk at the Library on Friday mornings along with volunteer Connie Conrad greeting patrons, shelving books, answering the phone, fielding inquiries about the Library and its services.

She reports that she especially loves to interact with little children.

“I’m the first person they see when they enter the Library and, if they are carrying their projects when they come back up from the Children’s Room, I always ask to see and admire their work.”

Library Executive Director Deborah Corcoran, in announcing Courtright as the 2016 Volunteer Award recipient, said, “We appreciate Sue’s dedicated service to the Library for over 29 years and we applaud her commitment to serving other community organizations such as the Hawley Presbyterian Church and the Dorflinger Sanctuary.

“I’m especially impressed with Sue’s relationship with a young man with special needs who volunteers each week at the Library.

“He and Sue have become friends and she encourages him in his work at the Library and in his musical pursuits outside the Library.”


“Our volunteers are great examples of the meaning of giving back,” Corcoran continued.

“They give of themselves even though there are no tangible benefits for them.

“Their biggest reward is the realization that they’ve made a positive change in someone’s life.”

Other Hames Award recipients have been: Caryl Schaeder, 2000; Nancy Parke, 2001; Betty Crissy, 2002; Carole Pederson, 2003; Marie Williams, 2004; Norma Anderson, 2005; Joan Nilsen, 2006; Grace Frisbie, 2007; Patricia Spruce, 2008; Gloria Cagnacci, 2009; Barbara Novak, 2010; Fred Hiris, 2011; Fanny Marshall, 2012; Penny Hughes, 2013; Barbara Scofield, 2014; and Michael Lashutka, 2015.