COUNTY - The County Farm Service Agency (FSA) Committee election for LAA # 1 and LAA # 5 will be held this year on Dec. 1.

Eligible voters have the right to nominate candidate(s) of their choice.

Nomination forms may be obtained at the Lackawanna/Wayne/Pike County FSA Office. Each form submitted must be:

• Limited to one nominee.

• Signed by the nominee, indicating willingness to serve, if elected.

• Postmarked or delivered to the County FSA Office no later than Aug. 1.

Any nominee should be currently engaged in the operation of a farm or ranch and be well qualified for committee work.

A producer is eligible to be a County FSA Committee member if the producer lives in the LAA up for election and is an eligible voter.

County FSA Committee members may not hold positions in certain farm and commodity organizations if these positions pose a conflict of interest with FSA duties.

These positions include functional offices such as president, vice president, secretary, and positions on boards or executive Committees. Additional information of eligibility to hold office may be obtained at the County FSA Office.

The duties of County FSA Committee member include:

• Informing farmers and ranchers of the purpose and provisions of the FSA programs.

• Keeping the State FSA Committee informed of LAA conditions.

• Recommending needed changes in farm programs.

• Participating in county meetings as necessary.

• Performing other duties as assigned by the State FSA Committee.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, political beliefs, reprisal, or because all or part of an individual's income is derived from any public assistance program. (Not all prohibited bases apply to all programs.)

Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication of program information (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.) should contact USDA's TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and TDD).

To file a complaint of discrimination, write to USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C.20250-9410, or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 (TDD). USDA is an equal opportunity.

Nominations are in LAA 1. This includes producers in the following townships in Lackawanna county. Newton, Ransom, South Abington, West Abington, North Abington, Dalton, LaPlume, Clarks Green, Glenburn and Scott.

Nominations are in LAA 5. This includes producers in the following townships in Wayne and Pike Counties. Wayne Twp’s include south Canaan, Cherry Ridge, Texas, Palmyra, Hawley, Paupack, Salem, Sterling, Lehigh, Dreher. All of Pike county.