More than 200 participants turned out Saturday morning to take part in the 4th Annual Roy Thorpe Memorial 5K. The event is the biggest fundraiser of the year for the Waymart Lions Club.

Wayne County’s summer road race season got off on the right foot this past weekend with a 5K?race in Waymart.

On Saturday, the 4th Annual Roy Thorpe Memorial Run/Walk attracted more than 200 participants of all ages and abilities.

“We had perfect weather for running and a wonderful turnout,” organizer Ryan French told TWI?Sports. “This is the biggest fundraiser of the year for the Waymart Lions Club and we generated a lot of money for our community.”

A talented multi-sport athlete who starred at Waymart High School in the 1950s, Roy Thorpe passed away in June of 2010. Next year’s edition of his race will be held Saturday, June 9th once again at the RD?Wilson Complex.

By the Numbers
Jason Theobald was the overall winner at this year’s edition of the Roy Thorpe Memorial 5K.

A standout distance runner at both Honesdale High School and Elizabethtown College, Theobald blistered the Waymart course. Jason stopped the clock at 16:50, which represents a brand new event record. The old mark of 17:19 was established two years ago by Jason Kennedy.

The overall female winner was Laurel Anderko, crossing the finish line in a time of 18:47.

Other age bracket winners include...
•Thomas Gogolski (U-10 Male) 24:43.
•Shannon O’Day (U-10 Female) 31:06.
•John Bateman (10-12 Male) 25:29.
•Paige Barillo (10-12 Female) 24:40.
•Caleb Jensen (13-35 Male) 17:53.
•Jackie Gallik (13-15 Female) 27:02.
•Gregory Senft (16-19 Male) 20:12.
•Rachel Fritz (16-19 Female) 20:24.
•Douglas Haines (20-29 Male) 17:28.
•Angela Franko (20-29 Female) 23:24.
•Jason Kennedy (30-39 Male) 17:16.
•Kelly Vinton (30-39 Female) 26:27.
•Seth Hendershot (40-49 Male) 22:25.
•Kathy Dragwa (40-49 Female) 20:17.
•Mark Dorish (50-59 Male) 21:41.
•Barbara Skates (50-59 Female) 24:16.
•Marsden Urmanec (60+ Male) 24:51.
•Donna Jackson (60+ Female) 38:27.

Finally, the 4th Annual Roy Thorpe Memorial 5K?featured a Stroller Division for the very first time.

The top three finishers in this bracket were: Anthony Ferraro (27:43), Erica Coccodrilli, Heather Fedoryk.